Level 4 Award in IQA

This qualification is suitable for you if you wish to obtain the Internal Verifier / Moderator role and quality assure assessors and assessment. The Level 4 Award (previously V1 award) in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (IQA) is a 17 credit and 115 guided learning hour qualification consisting of 3 mandatory units.

This qualification replaces the V1 and V2 qualifications. It is part of the new suite of qualifications for assessors, internal quality assurance (IQA) and external quality assurance (EQA). Start dates available throughout the year.

All learners enrolling on courses over £600 are eligible to receive a free Amazon Fire Tablet. Start dates available throughout the year. 

Who is it for

This qualification is required for:

  • Verifiers involved in National Vocational Qualifications (NVQs) for the next three years. Those who deliver these qualifications will need to be qualified to meet the requirements of the NVQ Code of Practice and Sector Skills Councils assessment strategies.
  • Quality assurance staff who deliver RQF qualifications that use the term ‘NVQ’ in their title will also need these qualifications.
  • Some staff, who are quality assuring qualifications within the RQF framework that do not use the term ‘NVQ’ in their titles, but whose purpose is to confirm occupational competence, will need to hold this IQA qualification.
  • This qualification will be helpful for teachers in schools who deliver vocational qualifications with applied learning, such as BTEC Firsts and Nationals. If you already hold the D34 or VI qualification, you will not need to requalify but must be aware of and practice to the new standards.

Learners must complete 3 mandatory units worth 17 credits in total to achieve the NCFE Level 4 Award in Internal Quality Assurance.

Qualification Structure

  • Unit 1: Understanding Principles and Practices of Internally Assuring the Quality of Assessment
  • Unit 2: Internally assure the quality of assessment
  • Unit 3: Plan, allocate and monitor work in own area of responsibility

Eligible learners must meet/hold one or more of the following criteria:

  • These qualifications are designed for learners from aged 19 and above.
  • A certificate/diploma in a relevant subject area.
  • An equivalent professional qualification from a recognised institution.
  • Mature students with a minimum of two years relevant work experience may be considered.
  • IELTS 4.5 or equivalent qualification is preferred but not essential.
  • The provider will determine English Language ability if English is not your native language.
Career Path

All awarding organisation qualifications including ATHE, DMI, NCFE, OTHM, Qualifi Ltd are on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) and recognised internationally. However, depending on your career ambitions, you may decide that it’s worth studying a little longer for a university degree. Topping-up to a degree will typically take between six and twelve months of further study depending on what degree you want to follow. UK Versity provides pathways to degree progression via LSM Education which is an associate college of Anglia Ruskin University. For more details visit http://www.lsmeducation.com/manchester

Source: PayScale